No Fear! From Portugal to Milan

Seeing photos of my son, Alex’s, trip to Europe makes me elated for the wonderful experiences he is enjoying. It makes me want to drop everything and travel the world. Ah, but daily life beckons me back. It doesn’t mean I’m not looking for that chance. I know I spout about “just doing” and I still hold to that. While you can’t drop everything to do whatever you want (well I guess actually you can if that’s what you want to do!), I still believe there are MANY opportunities that are missed out of fear. I will still hold true to “If you really want something you can achieve it/you can do it/ there is always a way.” I will get back there one day soon. For when that opportunity arises, you can be assured – I will take it. I write this again to inspire others to pay attention to what is holding them back. Is it a physical reason? or a psychological reason? If it’s money, you can overcome that. Do you really need that Latte from Starbucks, or can you stash that money away for your dream. If it’s psychological, you can overcome that too. It’s all a matter of choices. Are you stuck by the limitations of your employment? Are you really? I just want to challenge you to pay attention to your motives or lack thereof! “Where there’s a will there’s a way!”

There is so much to experience out there. Alex is a very personable young man. He is not afraid to begin a conversation to learn what he can about everything. He is not afraid to meet new people, to provide himself with knowledge, experiences, and opportunities. During his conversation with the woman who ran the place where he stayed, he shared how he came to be in Portugal. She ended up giving him a great deal on his room. While he was out and about he came across a shop with “old” money from countries around the world. He picked up a bill from the country where this woman grew up to give to her. She was so happy and grateful for his thoughtfulness. She gave him a coin that she had found. She had carried this around for years as a good luck charm because it had her year of birth on it. She wanted him to have it as his good luck charm. Turns out the bill that he gave her had his birth year on it too. So cool. He had conversations with various shop owners which led him to some possible business opportunities. He was finally able to stay with the friends he met last year (mentioned in my previous posts). Life can be so full if we are not afraid to step out and make connections.

He is now catching a flight to Milan, Italy to meet up with some more friends. He so enjoyed his time in Portugal, finding a new country that he completely adores. Between the natural beauty and the disposition of the people, he is in love. He told me the streets are filled with a vast array of art. So much beauty put into every day life. He has learned so much in the short time he was there. I have heard it is one of the best places to retire due to the low cost of living http://money.usnews.com/money/blogs/on-retirement/2014/06/10/11-reasons-to-retire-in-portugals-algarve. However if you need a job, not so great…job availability is also low.

One more week and he will be home. I miss my world traveller. I know he will only be home for short while, then head back there for the summer. He’s thinking about teaching English in Italy. Ah, to be young and carefree!

Leave a Reply

